Your flight has been delayed

This week two strange things happened, one I went to a conference and my return flight home was delayed and two I fell ill during a weekend away with friends.

We talk about fate , chances, signs and even at times random acts of the universe that seem to spiral out safe easy lives out of control.

One thing that I have been considering lately is, is there a reason for everything?

We all have those moments, your flight is cancelled, your car won’t start, a weekend away becomes a time to rest and recover from illness instead of a fun and exciting time with the girls.

On this journey called life things happen along the way you didn’t plan for and can’t change.

9 years ago I left my job in a corporate financial services company and through a series of signs and events wound up working in a not for profit organisation.

The last 9 years have been challenging at times difficult but unbelievably rewarding . At times I questioned my faith , my capabilities, my heart and my calling several times. I wondered if my twist of fate and change in roles and location had been an accident.

If anyone has seen the movie sliding doors you will know exactly what I am talking about. Is there a life somewhere else for us that we missed there somewhere? Did our flight get delayed and we missed an opportunity?
Or rather are we exactly where we need to be right now?

I have come to learn that some times it isn’t as much about what happens or even the apparent why things happen as to why our lives are thrown off course. It seems more that the journey changes us grows and moves us forward into the next season, the little things the big things , the hard things and the joyful things we experience maybe are not what we need to shy away from but what we need to learn to enjoy and accept as the next part of the road on our journey.

Leave a comment